Compare and contrast ericksons eight stages

March 13, at

Compare and contrast ericksons eight stages

Erikson's Development Stages 7.

Erik Erikson’s Eight Stages of Human Development 8 - Integrity vs. despair 7 - Generativity vs. stagnation 6 - Intimacy vs. isolation 5 - Identity vs. identity confusion 4 - Industry vs. inferiority 3 - Initiative vs. guilt 2 - Autonomy vs. shame and doubt 1 - Trust vs. mistrust. Compare and Contrast Erik Erikson & Sigmund Freud This research paper will compare and contrast two of the most influencial psychologists who helped shape the way we understand the development of the human mind; Sigmund Freud and Erik Erikson. Erikson's stages of psychosocial development, as articulated in the second half of the 20th century by Erik Erikson in collaboration with Joan Erikson, is a comprehensive psychoanalytic theory that identifies a series of eight stages that a healthy developing individual should .

Tell students to find a partner within their group. Partners should discuss one example—ideally from their own lives—that illustrates a particular stage-specific crisis.

Partners must describe a positive and negative outcome for their example. For example, stage 4, or school age, is when children begin school and learn new skills. If this stage is met successfully, a child will develop a sense of competence. He or she is more likely to feel confident about learning new subjects in school, talking in class, and taking on new challenges.

If not, he or she will develop a sense of inferiority, may be reluctant to ask questions, and could fall behind, feeling stupid or discouraged.

The next day, have groups give a brief presentation to teach the class about the stages of Erikson's theory. Then have each set of partners present their examples to the class.

Discuss the identity crisis of adolescence, which Erikson considered the most significant crisis of human psychosocial development. Ask students to talk about how this conflict plays a role in their own lives.

What are some examples of teenagers struggling to define their own identity? Why do they think an identity crisis occurs for most people during their teenage years? What are basic skills and values that are necessary to successfully resolve an identity crisis? What are the significant relationships in each of the first five stages of a person's life?

How do changes in these relationships reflect social and psychological changes in a person's life? Describe an identity crisis you have struggled with in your own life.

As you define your own identity, what are the different roles you must integrate? Where do you find inspiration? Describe pressures that can make it difficult to define your own personality and beliefs. Look closely at Erikson's fourth stage. Do you think he correctly identifies the primary struggle for school-aged children?

From your own experience, do you think there might be another way to explain the fundamental changes that occur during this stage of life? Evaluation Use the following three-point rubric to evaluate how well students participated in class discussions, worked within their groups, and created their presentations on the first five stages of life.

Compare and contrast ericksons eight stages

Extensions Adult Development Ask students to interview people of different ages to learn about Erikson's sixth, seventh, and eighth stages.

As a class, develop a list of questions for the interview, such as the following: What do you care most about?

A Comparative Analysis of Three Developmental Theories by Piaget, Kohlberg and Erikson | HubPages

Stage 6 Who are the most important people in your life? Stage 6 What do you do with most of your time? Stage 7 What are your goals? Stage 7 What advice would you give to someone our age? Stage 7 Which stages of your life have been most enjoyable? Stage 8 What have been some of the most significant events of your life?

A Comparison and Contrast of Freud and Erickson’s Developmental Theories | Accurate Essays

What age were you at each event? Stage 8 Encourage students to take careful notes during their interviews. Then have students give class presentations, comparing what they learned from the interviews about Erikson's final three stages of life.Erik Erikson, on the other hand, developed eight-stage theory of psychosocial development which described growth and change throughout the lifespan, focusing on social interaction and conflicts that arise during different stages of development.

erik erikson's psychosocial crisis life cycle model - the eight stages of human development Erikson's model of psychosocial development is a very significant, highly regarded and meaningful concept.

Life is a series of lessons and challenges which help us to grow. Erikson's theory of psychosocial development focuses on the ego and the stages of development from infancy(0 to 1 1/2) to maturity(65+). Erikson developed the eight psychosocial stages of which the first stage trust vs.

mistrust is where an infant learns to trust the primary caregiver to meet basic needs and this helps the infant feel secure.

Compare and contrast ericksons eight stages

Erik Erikson ( – ). Theorized that individuals go through eight stages of psychosocial development.


In each stage, Erikson believed people experience . Erik Erikson’s Eight Stages of Development Essay Erikson's identified the eight stages of psychosocial development which to cover a specific period of .

stages of development comparison chart. Angie. MSW. What others are saying "Bronfenbrenner's theory of development essays on abortion Bronfenbrenner ecological theory of development essays on abortion.

Coursework other than a-g agmirez dissertation for masters in nursing resumes." "Erik Erikson: Eight Steps of Development - Stairway To Good.

Similarities Between Piaget & Erickson | Synonym